

#### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

PRESIDENT Joe A. Garcia Ohkay Owingeh (Pueblo of San Juan)

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT Jefferson Keel Chickasaw Nation

RECORDING SECRETARY Juana Majel Pauma-Yuima Band of Mission Indians

TREASURER W. Ron Allen Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe

#### REGIONAL VICE-PRESIDENTS

ALASKA Mike Williams Yupiaq

EASTERN OKLAHOMA Joe Grayson, Jr. Cherokee Nation

GREAT PLAINS Mark Allen Flandreau Santee Sioux

MIDWEST Robert Chicks Stockbridge-Munsee

NORTHEAST Randy Noka Narragansett

NORTHWEST Ernie Stensgar Coeur d'Alene Tribe

PACIFIC Cheryl Seidner Wivot

ROCKY MOUNTAIN Raymond Parker Chippewa-Cree Business Committee

SOUTHEAST Leon Jacobs Lumbee Tribe

SOUTHERN PLAINS Steve Johnson Absentee Shawnee

SOUTHWEST Manuel Heart Ute Mountain Ute Tribe

WESTERN Kathleen Kitcheyan San Carlos Apache

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jacqueline Johnson Tlingit

### NCAI HEADQUARTERS

NCAI HEADQUAKTERS 1301 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20036 202.466.7767 202.466.7797 fax www.ncai.org

## NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS

# The National Congress of American Indians Resolution #TUL-05-084

TITLE: Establish the "Warriors Medal of Valor" and Award Certificate

WHEREAS, we, the members of the National Congress of American Indians of the United States, invoking the divine blessing of the Creator upon our efforts and purposes, in order to preserve for ourselves and our descendants the inherent sovereign rights of our Indian nations, rights secured under Indian treaties and agreements with the United States, and all other rights and benefits to which we are entitled under the laws and Constitution of the United States, to enlighten the public toward a better understanding of the Indian people, to preserve Indian cultural values, and otherwise promote the health, safety and welfare of the Indian people, do hereby establish and submit the following resolution; and

**WHEREAS,** the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) was established in 1944 and is the oldest and largest national organization of American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments; and

WHEREAS, as been the cultural traditions for the Native American tribes and Alaskan and Hawaiian Natives to pay tribute and honor to all American veterans, active duty, National Guard and Reserves, regardless of their cultural background; and

WHEREAS, by endorsement of NCAI, the National American Indian Veterans, and those American Indian tribes desiring to do so can now pay tribute and honor to these brave men and women warriors who have or are serving in the Armed Forces of the United States honorably for their great contributions to the great cause of freedom; and

**WHEREAS**, the "Warriors Medal of Valor" is an honorable way to convey the gratefulness from the National American Indian Veterans, the NCAI and those American Indian tribes desiring to do so, for the great sacrifices made in the cause of freedom by these great warriors; and

WHEREAS, great care must be taken to insure that the "Warriors Medal of Valor" is presented with dignity and at a public forum, such as grand entry at pow wows or other special events deemed honorable by the presenters of the "Warriors Medal of Valor."

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that the NCAI does hereby take pride and honor to endorse the "Warriors Medal of Valor" as an official medal administered by the National American Indian Veterans, to pay tribute and honor to the aforementioned veterans and military personnel, who have served or are serving under honorable conditions in the Armed Forces of America; and

**BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED**, that this resolution shall be the policy of NCAI until it is withdrawn or modified by subsequent resolutions.

Note: Please see Attachment #1 and #2 for photocopy of the "Warriors Medal of Valor"

Please see Attachment #3 for copy of Award Certificate

Foot note: The "Warriors Medal of Valor" was designed by Marshall Tall Eagle Serna Email address: <a href="marshalltalleagle@yahoo.com">marshalltalleagle@yahoo.com</a>

## **CERTIFICATION**

The foregoing resolution was adopted at the 2005 Annual Session of the National Congress of American Indians, held at the  $62^{nd}$  Annual Convention in Tulsa, Oklahoma on November 4, 2005 with a quorum present.

Joe Carcia, President

**ATTEST:** 

Juana Majel, Recording Secretary

Adopted by the General Assembly during the 2005 Annual Session of the National Congress of American Indians held from October 30, 2005 to November 4, 2005 at the Convention Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.